10 available languages

The CLES is available in 10 languages

One of the main values of the CLES is multilingualism. The CLES therefore offers proficiency tests in 10 languages:
  • English
  • Spanish
  • German
  • Italian
  • Arabic
  • French as a foreign language
  • Portuguese
  • Polish
  • Modern Greek
  • Russian
The CLES is aiming to increase the number of language tests available and teams are currently working on providing a certification in Chinese, thus increasing the number of languages to 11. 

The CLES for French as a foreign language

You can only pass the CLES certification in France as it is not available elsewhere. If you are in France for your studies, do not hesitate to certify your level in French as a foreign language.

Currently not all CLES centres offer certification in French. Check the list of centres certified to organise tests in French to find a centre near you.
Published on  March 13, 2023
Updated on July 7, 2023