The Scientific Committee issues opinions and formulates proposals on the scientific quality of the CLES content and procedures. It is also proactive regarding questions of formative and certification-related assessment to the CLES Steering Committee and the CLES Scientific Directorate.

It is chaired by the Scientific Director representing the CLES National Coordination Committee and is composed of ten members: senior lecturers and professors in higher education institutions and recognised French or international experts in the Language testing area of expertise (linguistics, applied linguistics, certification-related assessment, etc.).

Members (2016-2020)

The scientific adviser to the ministry is a permanent guest member of the Scientific Committee.

  • Encarnacion Carrasco, Université de Barcelone (Espagne)
  • Cristiana Cervini, Université de Bologne (Italie)
  • Johann Fischer, Université de Göttingen (Allemagne)
  • Maria Rosaria Gianninoto, Université Grenoble Alpes (France)
  • Jean-Rémy Lapaire, Université Bordeaux Montaigne (France)
  • Evangelia Moussouri, Université Aristote Thessaloniki (Grèce)
  • Jean-Paul Narcy-Combes, Sorbonne nouvelle - Pierre et Marie Curie (France)
  • James Enos Purpura, Université Columbia (États-unis)
  • Jonathan Rees, Université de Birmingham (Royaume Uni)
  • Claire Tardieu, Sorbonne nouvelle – Paris 3 (France)