The Scientific Committee issues opinions and formulates proposals on the scientific quality of the CLES content and procedures. It is also proactive regarding questions of formative and certification-related assessment to the CLES Steering Committee and the CLES Scientific Directorate.

It is chaired by the Scientific Director representing the CLES National Coordination Committee and is composed of ten members: senior lecturers and professors in higher education institutions and recognised French or international experts in the Language testing area of expertise (linguistics, applied linguistics, certification-related assessment, etc.).

Members (2016-2020)

The scientific adviser to the ministry is a permanent guest member of the Scientific Committee.

  • Bernard Allanic, University Rennes 2 (France)
  • Encarnacion Carrasco, University of Barcelona (Spain)
  • Cristiana Cervini, University of Bologna (Italy)
  • Johann Fischer, University of Göttingen (Germany)
  • Jean-Rémy Lapaire, University Bordeaux Montaigne (France)
  • Evangelia Moussouri, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (Greece)
  • Jean-Paul Narcy-Combes, Sorbonne-Nouvelle - Pierre and Marie Curie University (France)
  • James Enos Purpura, Columbia University (United States of America)
  • Jonathan Rees, Birmingham University (United Kingdom)
  • Claire Tardieu, Sorbonne Nouvelle – University Paris 3 (France)